#365yoga: Day 107 One

Yoga literally means to “yoke” or to create union between things. I am finding as I progress along this yogic journey of daily reflection and practice that the number of things that are bridged by yoga are expanding. At first I was focusing on the connection between breath and movement, stillness and flow and quiet and sound when I physically practiced my yoga. Now I realize that my yoga exists more often in the ordinary daily moments than when I am finding it while on my mat.

My movement today was walking throughout the woods in my backyard to see the expanded waterfall and creek, to look at the green skunk cabbage and to leap from stone to stone with my eldest elf. I found stillness listening to the water flowing in the quiet and hearing a hawk being taunted by a crow. I flowed as I adapted to the needs of parents, elves, my husband and strangers throughout the day. I inhaled when the elves went to bed and exhaled slowly after realizing that we had missed not one, but three major car accidents by mere minutes. I connected all these moments in my body, breath and mind. I was not on my mat, but I was doing yoga.

I found my asana when I pressed into my big toe ball mounts during the 15 minutes we stood waiting for the UConn Husky celebration parade to start, and when I busted out a version of Setu Bandha Sarvangasana on our rock bridge. The creek was rushing underneath me, teaming with a night full of rain drops. The water flowed as I did from one leg lifted to the other, linking my breath with the sound of the current.

The more I practice yoga the more I realize that everything is yoga. It is the one thing that connects all my actions, thoughts and moments throughout the day. It is the bridge between them and the union between my life and everything else.

There are so many rapid-filled rivers in our life paths. We have to be ready to face their challenges and find the way to traverse their waters. My secret to share with you today dear readers is this one: find the yoga and you will locate the bridge that allows you to cross the currents below you.

Yoga is the one bridge.

13 Comments

Filed under #365yoga, postaday2011, Yoga

13 responses to “#365yoga: Day 107 One

  1. Completely agree with the comment above. I love this.

  2. Ahhh…I absolutely love this. I found my yoga today while walking barefoot across my wood floors, through an impromptu tree pose while brushing my teeth, and through a silent smile and a breath instead of a reactive yell as my child disobeyed.
    Yoga is everywhere indeed. Thank you.

  3. So gorgeous! I love the unfolding process of yoga–seeing more and more how deep and broad it is as my practice continues. You captured this so beautifully!

  4. Lovely post. Thank you for sharing your yoga with us.

  5. @MegP4

    This is a really beautiful post.

  6. Meg

    Right on. Just right on.

  7. you live in a magical fairyland that i want to escape to. make some room on the rock…here i come! 😀

  8. nancy, so nicely written and expressed (not always the same thing i’ve found 😉 )

    love the inter-connecting ‘tween the images in nature around you, and the internal images of health and life, all connecting

    so well said, so true 😉

  9. Beautiful Nancy. I loved every word of this post!

  10. it is true – i find more yoga in my day to day activities than on my mat. i think that makes sense tho – i only spend 60/90 min on my mat and yet live 23 hrs off of it. ❤ this post!

  11. “The more I practice yoga the more I realize that everything is yoga.”

    I’m just getting to this place and love it 🙂 Beautiful post!

Leave a comment